Coiling Machine Progress

I made progress last night on the coiling machine. I cut out all the parts I drew up yesterday. I machined a pulley out of delrin. I cut down the 16″ case-hardened stainless steel rod (no easy feat that) into two pieces so the carriage wasn’t overly long.

Below are some pictures of the process. It’s always fun to watch the laser cutter do its thing. The sliding carriage mechanism is so smooth it’s scary. I love it. I’m going to re-cut the pulley mount, there were inconsistencies in the Baltic Birch plywood (glue, or a knot) that the laser didn’t get through. Usually you can take a utility knife to the back and it’s easy to release the part, but this went half way through the plywood, so it’s ugly. Functional enough though.

I’m also going to redesign the motor mount. While it fits the NEMA17 brackets that I have, I realized it’s not stable enough without an additional side to lock everything down.

I would do this tonight, but instead I’m going to the Wulin Hanyu Shaolin Kungfu Martial Arts Show put on the by the University of Idaho’s Confucius Institute (孔子學院).

Author: homechicken

Dvorak Typist. Mandarin Speaker. Mugwump. Commander of Her Royal Majesty's 102nd Garden Gnome Regiment. Collector of Hobbies. Cat Whisperer. Maker of Things.

Leave a Reply

